City of Perrysburg

Alerts alert icon

Police Division Employees Honored

May 17, 2023 

Two employees of the Perrysburg Police Division were honored during the Tuesday, May 16 City Council meeting for their dedication and outstanding service. Police Chief Patrick Jones announced the recipients of the 2022 Civilian Employee of the Year and Officer of the Year.

Bailey Malear was named the 2022 Civilian of the Year. He has worked for the Perrysburg Police Division since 2019 as a communications officer. Chief Jones told City Council that Malear "is known for taking initiative to improve his skills and for looking at ways to improve how we conduct business.” Malear recently completed the National Emergency Number Association’s Center Manager Certification Program.

“He recently took the initiative to create a shared resource folder for the Communications Center that easily allows Communications Officers to find the needed information quickly,” Jones said. “His knowledge of the job is outstanding and he is always eager to learn more. His dedication and ownership of his job shows daily, through his performance.”

Officer Jordan Gregory was named 2022 Officer of the Year by Chief Jones. Officer Gregory has been with the Perrysburg Police Division since 2019 and serves as a field training officer on the midnight shift. Chief Jones said he is impressed with Officer Gregory’s high quality of work.    

“His impressive knowledge of Perrysburg Police Division policies and procedures, the Ohio Revised Code, and pertinent case law is impressive for his actual tenure with the Perrysburg Police Division,” Jones said. “His enthusiasm for the job is contagious as evidenced by the activity amongst his midnight shift coworkers.”

Malear and Officer Gregory’s awards come during National Police Week, a collaborative effort of many organizations dedicated to honoring America’s law enforcement community.

Pictured L-R: Officer Jordan Gregory, Chief Patrick Jones and Bailey Malear