City of Perrysburg

Alerts alert icon

City of Perrysburg Recognized as a Tree City USA   

May 10, 2023

The City of Perrysburg was recognized as a Tree City USA in the Northwest Ohio awards ceremony on Tuesday, May 9, hosted by the City of Wauseon Tree Commission. This is the 39th year that Perrysburg has been honored with this nationally recognized award. The City also received the Growth Award for the 25th year.

The awards were presented to the Tree City and Tree Campus USA communities by the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Forestry. Featured speaker, Nate Andre of Andre Farms, shared his company’s experiences with converting municipal yard by-products into compost.

The title of Tree City USA was bestowed upon the City of Perrysburg for its ongoing efforts to maintain and improve quality of life through a comprehensive tree management program. The program is guided by the Tree Commission and the municipal government.

Accepting the award on the City’s behalf were members of Perrysburg’s Street Tree Commission. Click here to learn more about the commission and the City's street trees.

The Ohio DNR, Division of Forestry’s Urban Forestry Assistance Program acts as a guiding hand in helping a community to become qualified as a Tree City USA. The Regional Urban Forester recommends a community to the Arbor Day Foundation for this standing. To achieve the title and the honors, a community must meet four standards:

  • A Tree Ordinance
  • An active Tree Commission or forestry department
  • A comprehensive urban forestry program supported by a minimum of two dollars per capita
  • An annual Arbor Day proclamation and public observance

Ohio boasts the greatest number of Tree Cities in the country and marks Ohio’s 44th consecutive year as the top Tree City USA state, according to the Ohio Division of Forestry. 47 of Northwest Ohio’s communities are Tree Cities and two universities are honored as Tree Campus USAs (Ohio Northern University and the University of Findlay). All were recognized for their achievements at the awards ceremony in Findlay.

For additional information about the Tree City USA program or the Arbor Day Foundation, visit

Street Tree Commission members accepting the Tree City USA award (pictured left to right): Greg Kuhr, Christine Ardley, Mark Easterling, Jim Hagen, Dan Ledyard, Scott Kirby, Kali Sawaya, and Dan Balser (ODNR Division of Forestry Chief).
Street Tree Commission